top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSierra Anderson

Interactions


Cooking at the Leones' house (PC: Treson)


"Ok, 1, 2, 3." I felt the rabies shot prick my arm as I excitedly remembered that this was my last one of 10! I waved goodbye to all the emergency room staff as I left and they all called out goodbyes and well-wishes. I've seen them quite a lot in the last month and a half! Director Melissa had taken me into town with her to drop her dad off at the airport, get my shot, and go grocery shopping. I had never shopped with her before and it was fascinating! She went from store to store, knowing exactly which place would have each item.

Shopping is a lot different here. There aren't any store buildings like in the United States. There are little stores in tents or garage-like structures all over town. While there are a few stores that sell both food and toiletries, most stores sell one type of thing, such as fresh produce, clothing, furniture, toiletries, bulk food items, meat, etc, so grocery shopping entails many stops. It's fun to get to explore everywhere and because the stores are small, it is easy to become friends with the shopkeepers. Last week I went up to a small table in the marketplace to buy honey and the lady looked up, smiled and said, "Hola Amiga! Cómo está?" It made me smile to realize we were getting to know people not only at Familia Feliz, but in town as well.

Upon arriving home, I sat down to finish hand-sewing our much-needed curtains for our room. A couple hours later, I finished and excitedly went to find something that would work as a curtain rod. But the girls kept trying to keep me from leaving the house! As soon as I'd walk toward the door, one of them would complain of some medical need, or ask me to check something in the yard with them, among other excuses. I just took it as being a busy day and went along with all their questions and needs. Finally I said I needed to go get one of the guys to chop down a small tree and they all said "We'll go with you!" Again completely oblivious, I took them all with me and walked to the guys' house. What I walked into was a paper bat covered house with chocolate cake pops and a very cute party! They had made such a cute last rabies shot celebration for me! It made my day.


One of our littlest girls touched the exhaust pipe of one of the motorcycles and had a bad 2nd degree burn on her arm that I started treating in the afternoon. She has been very brave, but can't keep a bandaid on to save her life, so it's a constant process. Lisiane and I also cleaned the house for Sabbath followed by vespers and a beautiful beginning to Sabbath.

Sabbath morning dawned with a lot of sniffles. The entire house of older boys was sick and I went climbing through the jungle in search of lemons. Our tree is slowing down production and I've been trying to stock up on them! I finally made it to church with a pitcher of hot lemon honey water and a bottle of Tylenol. Carlo and I sang Go Light Your World in Spanish for church, which was fun. It has been a while since I've gotten the chance to play/sing music!

Special Music


One tradition here at Familia Feliz is going to the river on Sabbath. After lunch, we all climbed in the back of the giant truck and took off down the road. One of my adventures here has been taking care of so many little boys at once. I love it, and it keeps me on my toes because it's very different from raising a house of girls! The same goes for how they play in the river. I was talking with another student missionary when SLAP! A giant piece of clay splashed all over my shirt. A little boy looked at me very excited and guilty all at the same time. I looked at him in surprise, picked up a pile of clay, and threw it straight at him. The war was on! The other little boys quickly joined for a very fun and muddy afternoon!

Rogelio Enjoying the River

After the Mud Fight


As soon as we got home, I started a giant pot of quinoa and a big bin of donut dough. As I was cooking, one of the little boys brought me a craft that he had made at Sabbath school. "It's for you, teacher!" So sweet! The other student missionaries soon joined and we made quinoa salad with chili and donuts for the house of 30. It was a good way to end a busy day!

Lots of Donuts!

Gifts from Diego and Alejandro


Sunday was a flurry of events. The morning started so peacefully with Carlo and I cooking pancakes with orange sauce and the boys entertaining themselves with a pet beetle for nearly two hours. After breakfast, they started arguing and fighting with each other and every boy had a meltdown by lunch. It was an exhausting morning.

Sunday is such a toss-up. On one hand, the kids love getting to have a day off from school and play games together. but the family visitation time is also very emotionally taxing. In the mornings they are so nervous, asking if their parents are coming or not. Some of it is excitement, but there is also the fear that their parents won't come, or the visit won't go well. And then there's the realization that their parents will leave them, yet again. This is so stressful for them and those who spend time with their parents always misbehave or cry after the visit. It's absolutely heartbreaking and evening worship usually ends with Carlo and I holding several discouraged kids.

As we tiredly tucked the kids in for the night, one of the 7-year-olds, Gaishel, looked down at me and said, "Teacher, how many more days until you get to come here for Sunday again?" It made me smile. Sunday's can be a handful, but it's the loving interactions with the kids that make it so worth it.

After they were asleep, I was walking to the various houses to give evening medicines when I saw a twinkle in the air. All of a sudden, there was another twinkle, and another, and another! They have fireflies here! I love how God uses little things like that to make us smile.

The Guerreros' house being sick on Sabbath was only the beginning. Monday found the Lilas' house, three of the permanent staff, some of the Guerreros, and two of the student missionaries sick. I ran from house to house all day, giving medicine, picking lemons and making lemon honey water, and making vegetable broth for those throwing up. As I sat down to chart, I had a suicidal case brought to me. After many hours of talking with the house parent, making a plan of treatment, and prayer, we were on a good path of help. It was a busy day emotionally and physically, but one in which I saw God working all around me. Everyone was feeling a little bit better by evening.

When the campus quieted down, I put on my coat and walked through the chilly evening air to the church. It was open and I sat down, enjoying the silence and time to think until late.

On Tuesday, two of the sm's were still sick, another was in Santa Cruz getting her residency, and four more were on their day off, so that left Zoro and me as the only sm's for the day! I substitute taught kindergarten, which was a fun adventure. We practiced the alphabet, solfege, and learned about personal space, or "personal bubbles". They had so much fun making bubbles out of dish soap and water for their activity! At the end of the morning I sent home a group of very soapy little boys!

The most common bug here is probably either the mosquito or the ant. There is a significant bullet ant problem and one of the kids got a bite in the afternoon. His poor little hand swelled up like a grapefruit and he was shaking in pain. I sat with him for hours while his pain medicine and Benadryl kicked in. We listened to Adventures in Odyssey together and watched a movie. By evening he was feeling good enough to go back to his house, so I took a couple older girls to the store down the street. It was fun to talk with them and hear their stories from the day.

Recess


Figuring out what to cook here is not done by what one feels like cooking, but more by what ingredients are on hand. Yesterday, I tried making sweet Russian cheese pancakes with lemon sauce for breakfast. It wasn't the. picture of health, but it was awfully yummy and we had the ingredients for it! Partway through cooking, I got a text saying that the TV station would be coming in the afternoon to do a story about Familia Feliz. The entire campus immediately sprung into action. Acres of grass was mowed in the rain, kids re-planted flower beds, others scrubbed houses, and all the little boys got haircuts. I flew around the clinic re-organizing and decorating. By 3, everything was in perfect order, with the kids in their uniforms and everyone waiting quietly in their houses. Pretty soon the camera crew arrived. Everyone watched curiously as they went from house to house, looking in on each activity. If you'd like to see the campus tour, this is the link! The clinic is show around minute 7:20: https://www.facebook.com/watch/?extid=WA-UNK-UNK-UNK-AN_GK0T-GK1C&v=469501395144934

In the evening, I walked to the Lilas' house where I sat with Teacher Abi as she cooked empanadas. We talked for an hour and a half about life, family, and future plans. When we finished, I realized in shock that the entire time we hadn't spoken any English! While my Spanish is still extremely beginner level, it's improving!

This week has been so full of memorable interactions with a variety of children and staff. I have been thinking about how important it is to take time throughout my busy day to stop and listen to the kids and volunteers. Being the campus nurse is about making sure everyone is healthy physically, but it also involves ensuring that people are healthy emotionally. I have been blessed by the interactions with everyone around me this week. God has placed me here with some pretty amazing people!

PC: Treson

135 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page