top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSierra Anderson

A Picnic, a Frog, & Christmas



"I'll take the backpack," said Angel. "Ok," I replied as I handed over Carlo's backpack full of our picnic lunch. We were 3 miles into a hike and Carlo had just run ahead to see if the end of the trail was coming soon. "I'll take the first aid kit," seconded Diego. As I passed it to him, little Chacho piped up. "I'll take the water bottle!" I grinned as I gave him the water bottle. They didn't want me to have to carry things as we walked. Such little gentlemen!

That was on Sunday. Four of the Leones had gone to be with family for Christmas, so we only had 5 boys and wanted to go on an adventure with them. We excitedly packed a picnic lunch and around lunch time set off down the road with all the little boys in a line.

Soon we got to the jungle path. Neither Carlo nor I had ever taken this particular path before, but other sm's had with their kids so we assumed it had an ending not too far away. It was beautiful, walking under the fruit and palm trees, seeing the giant spider webs, and smelling gorgeous rainforest flowers. After 3 miles, we were all thirsty and tired in the 100 degree heat and the boys and I sat down in the middle of the trail while Carlo ran to see how much farther it was. He didn't find the end, so we turned around and started heading back.

A few miles later, even little Chacho had made it to the trailhead and we sat down to eat a delicious lunch of barbecue soy burgers, fries, bananas, oranges, brownies, and yupi, their version of Kool Aid. When everyone was stuffed, we once again walked down the road, tired but happy!

Pre-hike

The trail


Sabbath had passed by peacefully. Melissa returned, along with her father, brother, two sisters, and theirs families on Friday. The houses had done home worships for Friday night and Sabbath school, and we all had an outdoor church service together. Everyone went into full Christmas vacation mode!

Monday was another restful day, and I accomplished a lot of cleaning and charting. When I walked into the dark bathroom in the evening to shower, I was greeted by the family of frogs that resides there. I don't mind frogs, but they're always so shocking! Especially when they jump onto you when you walk in!

Bathroom Welcoming Comittee


Tuesday was exciting in that we had our SM Christmas party! I sewed stockings for everyone in the afternoon and filled them with things my mom brought, and Elizabeth planned a white elephant gift exchange. Lisiane and I made homemade fettuccine with pesto. We had so much fun playing, eating, and hanging out!

Us and our homemade stockings

My homemade peppermint bark!


Wednesday was another day of Christmas! We had the last house Christmas party at the Hardings. The kids were so excited, and enjoyed making paper snowflakes for the tree and opening their presents.

Sophia (pictured at the beginning), got a toy doctor set and was so excited to play doctor's office! Such a cutie!

In the evening, we celebrated Treson's birthday, since several of us will be gone on his actual birthday, which was so much fun! And with that, we were done with our two weeks of parties.

Hardings around the tree


Thursday was my first full day off in 5 weeks. It was such a blessing! Taking some time to nap, swim in a pool, and just relax was rejuvenating. I came home to the Leones in the evening, where Carlo and I are supervising the boys for the next 4 days since their house parents are traveling.

The boys have been pretty good, but Chacho has had a hard time. Every week his dad says he'll come get him for Christmas the next week, and it's hurting the little guy so much. He burst into tears this morning and shouted "I just want to leave! I want to leave!" While he usually likes it here, the struggle of his dad not "wanting" him is too much for the 6-year-old's brain and he's under so much stress. They should be going home this weekend. Please keep him, his older brother Benjamin, and little sister Nierza in your prayers.

Over this week, it has been so nice to get some more relaxed vacation time with the kids! Many more opportunities to do special things and spend one-on-one time with them. While they have their struggles, I'm so proud of them. Proud of how brave they are, proud of their longing to know Jesus better, proud of their thoughtfulness and determination to be cheerful even in the toughest times. God can do amazing things in hearts that are open to his work.

On Monday, I fly home for break! Looking forward to seeing many of you guys this next week!

94 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page